As a customer-owned financial cooperative, CoBank is governed by a board of directors drawn from the rural industries we serve. Our 2018 board consists of 21 elected directors from six voting regions around the country as well as one appointed director and two outside, independent directors with no customer or Farm Credit affiliations.

Board Structure

CoBank’s board uses a committee system to assist in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities. The board has established five standing committees: Executive, Compensation and Human Resources, Audit, Risk and Governance. The board reviews each committee charter annually.

To help ensure that the bank continues to attract a highly qualified and diverse board, CoBank’s board also has independent nominating committee charged with identifying qualified candidates for board membership and reviewing director nominations. No current board member may serve as a member on the nominating committee.


Executive Committee (Charter)
Kevin G. Riel, Chair
Everett M. Dobrinski
Benjamin J. Freund
Jon E. Marthedal
Kevin A. Still
Audit Committee (Charter)
William M. Farrow III, Chair
Michael S. Brown
M. Dan Childs
James R. Magnuson
Brandon J. Wittman
Compensation & Human Resources Committee (Charter)
Daniel T. Kelley, Chair
Catherine Moyer
David L. Reinders
Governance Committee (Charter)
David J. Kragnes, Chair
Robert M. Behr
Alarik Myrin
Ronald J. Rahjes
Karen L. Schott
Risk Committee (Charter)
Edgar A. Terry, Chair
Russell G. Brown
Andrew J. Gilbert
Clint E. Roush
Richard W. Sitman